PrintPrint © 2011 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Yankees name INF Eduardo Nunez and RHP David Phelps winners of the 2010 Kevin Lawn "Player of the Year" and "Pitcher of the Year" Awards
02/25/2011 11:08 AM ET

The New York Yankees today announced that infielder Eduardo Nunez and right-handed pitcher David Phelps were named winners of the Yankees' 2010 Kevin Lawn Award as the Yankees' minor league "Player of the Year" and "Pitcher of the Year," respectively. The two players will receive their awards prior to the Yankees-Blue Jays game on March 19 at George M. Steinbrenner Field, scheduled to begin at 1:05 p.m.

The annual awards are dedicated to Kevin O'Brien Lawn – the son of longtime Yankees Vice President and Chief of Operations Jack Lawn – who passed away in 1999.

Nunez, 23, batted .289 (134-for-464) with 55 runs, 25 doubles, three triples, four home runs, 50 RBI and 23 stolen bases in 118 games with Triple-A Scranton/Wilkes-Barre in 2010, earning a spot on the midseason and postseason International League All-Star rosters. He led all Scranton/WB batters in hits and stolen bases, ranked second in doubles and recorded the third-highest average among all Yankees farmhands. Nunez was promoted to the Major League level on August 19, where he hit .280 (14-for-50) with 12 runs, one home run and seven RBI in 30 games. Following the season, he was named by Baseball America as the eighth-best prospect, the "Best Defensive Infielder" and possessing the "Best Infield Arm" in the Yankees organization.

Phelps, 24, combined to go 10-2 with a 2.50 ERA and 141 strikeouts in 26 games (25 starts) with Double-A Trenton and Triple-A Scranton/Wilkes-Barre in 2010. He began the season with Trenton and went 6-0 with a 2.04 ERA and 84 strikeouts in 14 starts before being promoted to Scranton/WB on July 2. At the time of his promotion, he led the Eastern League in strikeouts and ranked second in ERA, earning EL midseason All-Star honors. With Scranton/WB, Phelps went 4-2 with a 3.07 ERA in 12 games (11 starts). Following the season, the Missouri native was tabbed by Baseball America as having the "Best Slider" in the Yankees organization.

Each player will be presented with a trophy designed by C & C Awards as well as a designer watch, courtesy of Manfredi Jewels.

YearPlayer of the YearPitcher of the Year
2010SS Eduardo Nunez (SWB)RHP David Phelps (TRE/SWB)
2009C Austin Romine (TAM)RHP Zach McAllister (TRE)
2008OF Brett Gardner (SWB)LHP Phil Coke (TRE/SWB)
2007OF Austin Jackson (CHA/TAM/SWB)RHP Ian Kennedy (TAM/TRE/SWB)
20061B Cody Ehlers (TAM)RHP Phil Hughes (TRE)
2005OF Kevin Thompson (COL/TRE)RHP Matt DeSalvo (TRE)
20041B Andy Phillips (COL/TRE)RHP Chien-Ming Wang (TRE/COL)
2003C Dioner Navarro (TAM/TRE)RHP Jorge DePaula (COL)
20022B Andy Phillips (COL/NOR)LHP Danny Borrell (NOR/TAM)
RHP Jorge DePaula (NOR)
2001OF Juan Rivera (COL/NOR)
OF Marcus Thames (NOR)
LHP Brandon Claussen (NOR/TAM)
20003B Scott Seabol (NOR)LHP Randy Keisler (COL)
19992B D'Angelo Jimenez (COL)
1B Nick Johnson (NOR)
LHP Ed Yarnall (COL)
19981B Nick Johnson (TAM)RHP Ryan Bradley (TAM/NOR/COL)
19973B Mike Lowell (COL/NOR)LHP Eric Milton (NOR/TAM)
1996OF Ricky Ledee (COL/NOR)RHP Jay Tessmer (TAM)
1995SS Derek Jeter (COL)RHP Matt Drews (TAM)
1994SS Derek Jeter (TAM/ALB/COL)LHP Andy Pettitte (COL/ALB)
1993OF Billy Masse (COL)LHP Ryan Karp (ALB/PRW/GBO)
19921B J.T. Snow (COL)RHP Sam Militello (COL)
1991C Kiki Hernandez (GBO/PW)
SS Dave Silvestri (ALB)
RHP Ed Martel (ALB/COL)
RHP Sam Militello (PW/ALB)
1990OF Hensley Meulens (COL)RHP Dave Eiland (COL)
19891B Hal Morris (COL)LHP Steve Adkins (FTL/ALB)
19881B Kevin Maas (PRW/ALB)RHP Todd Malone (Sarasota)
1987OF Darren Reed (COL)RHP Dana Ridenour (FTL)
19863B Chris Alvarez (FTL)RHP Logan Easley (ALB)
1985OF Dan Pasqua (COL)RHP Brad Arnsberg (ALB)
1984C/OF Scott Bradley (COL)LHP Jim Deshaies (COL)
1983OF Brian Dayett (COL)RHP Jose Rijo (FTL/Nashville)
1982OF Matt Winters (GBO/Nashville)RHP Bob Tewksbury (FTL)
19811B Don Mattingly (COL)LHP Pete Filson (FTL/Nashville)
19801B Steve Balboni (Nashville)RHP Gene Nelson (FTL)

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Yankees Homepage   |