To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

03/04/2010 8:54 AM ET
Yankees name catcher Austin Romine and RHP Zach Mcallister winners of the 2009 Kevin Lawn 'Player of the Year' and 'Pitcher of the Year' Awards
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page

The New York Yankees today announced that catcher Austin Romine and right-handed pitcher Zach McAllister were named winners of the Yankees' 2009 Kevin Lawn Award as the Yankees' minor league "Player of the Year" and "Pitcher of the Year." The two players will receive their awards prior to the Yankees' game vs. the Minnesota Twins on March 31 at George M. Steinbrenner Field in Tampa.

The annual awards are dedicated to Kevin O'Brien Lawn, the son of longtime Yankees Vice President and Chief of Operations Jack Lawn, who passed away in 1999.

Romine, 21, appeared in 118 games with Single-A Tampa in 2009, batting .276 (122-for-442) with 61 runs scored, 28 doubles, three triples, 13 home runs and 32 RBI. He received the Topps Florida State League "Player of the Year" award and was named to both the midseason and postseason FSL All-Star teams. The California native tied his career high in hits and established career highs in doubles and RBI. He led the team in hits and doubles, tied for the team lead in home runs, and ranked second in games played, runs scored and RBI. Following the season, Romine was named by Baseball America as the fourth-best prospect in the Yankees organization.

McAllister, 22, made 22 starts with Double-A Trenton, going 7-5 with a league-leading 2.23 ERA and 96 strikeouts in 121.0 innings pitched in 2009. The right-hander held opponents to a league-best .220 batting average (98-for-446) with four home runs. He ranked first among all Yankees full-season minor leaguers in ERA and ranked fifth in the Eastern League with a 7.14 strikeouts/innings pitched ratio. Following the season, he was named by Baseball America as the fifth-best prospect in the Yankees organization and as having the organization's "Best Control."

Each player will be presented with a trophy designed by C & C Awards as well as a Raymond Weil watch, courtesy of William Barthman Jewelers.


             Player of the Year                         Pitcher of the Year
2009         C Austin Romine (TAM)                      RHP Zach McAllister (TRE)
2008         OF Brett Gardner (SWB)                     LHP Phil Coke (TRE/SWB)
2007         OF Austin Jackson (CHA/TAM/SWB)            RHP Ian Kennedy (TAM/TRE/SWB)
2006         1B Cody Ehlers (TAM)                       RHP Phil Hughes (TRE)
2005         OF Kevin Thompson (COL/TRE)                RHP Matt DeSalvo (TRE) 
2004         1B Andy Phillips (COL/TRE)                 RHP Chien-Ming Wang (TRE/COL)
2003         C Dioner Navarro (TAM/TRE)                 RHP Jorge DePaula (COL) 
2002         2B Andy Phillips (COL/NOR)                 LHP Danny Borrell (NOR/TAM) 
                                                        RHP Julio DePaula (NOR)
2001         OF Juan Rivera (COL/NOR)                   LHP Brandon Claussen (NOR/TAM)
             OF Marcus Thames (NOR)
2000         3B Scott Seabol (NOR)                      LHP Randy Keisler (COL) 
1999         2B D'Angelo Jimenez (COL)                  LHP Ed Yarnall (COL) 
                    1B Nick Johnson (NOR)                                      
1998         1B Nick Johnson (TAM)                      RHP Ryan Bradley (TAM/NOR/COL)
1997         3B Mike Lowell (COL/NOR)                   LHP Eric Milton (NOR/TAM)
1996         OF Ricky Ledee (COL/NOR)                   RHP Jay Tessmer (TAM) 
1995         SS Derek Jeter (COL)                       RHP Matt Drews (TAM) 
1994         SS Derek Jeter (TAM/ALB/COL)               LHP Andy Pettitte (COL/ALB) 
1993         OF Billy Masse (COL)                       LHP Ryan Karp (ALB/PRW/GBO)
1992         1B J.T. Snow (COL)                         RHP Sam Militello (COL) 
1991         C Kiki Hernandez (GBO/PW)                  RHP Ed Martel (ALB/COL) 
                    SS Dave Silvestri (ALB)             RHP Sam Militello (PW/ALB) 
1990         OF Hensley Meulens (COL)                   RHP Dave Eiland (COL) 
1989         1B Hal Morris (COL)                        LHP Steve Adkins (FTL/ALB) 
1988         1B Kevin Maas (PRW/ALB)                    RHP Todd Malone (Sarasota) 
1987         OF Darren Reed (COL)                       RHP Dana Ridenour (FTL) 
1986         3B Chris Alvarez (FTL)                     RHP Logan Easley (ALB) 
1985         OF Dan Pasqua (COL)                        RHP Brad Arnsberg (ALB)
1984         C/OF Scott Bradley (COL)                   LHP Jim Deshaies (COL) 
1983         OF Brian Dayett (COL)                      RHP Jose Rijo (FTL/Nashville) 
1982         OF Matt Winters (GBO/Nashville)            RHP Bob Tewksbury (FTL)
1981         1B Don Mattingly (COL)                     LHP Pete Filson (FTL/Nashville)
1980         1B Steve Balboni (Nashville)               RHP Gene Nelson (FTL)
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page