To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

03/29/2011 1:15 PM ET
Manny Banuelos wins 2011 James P. Dawson Award
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page

The New York Yankees today announced that left-handed pitcher Manny Banuelos is the recipient of the 2011 James P. Dawson Award, given annually to the outstanding Yankees rookie in spring training. Banuelos received the award in a pre-game ceremony today, prior to the Yankees' 1:05 p.m. game vs. Detroit at George M. Steinbrenner Field.

Banuelos, 20, went 1-1 with a 2.13 ERA in six games (two starts) this spring, allowing just three earned runs in 12.2 innings pitched. The youngest player in Major League camp, Banuelos was recently named by Baseball America as the organization's fourth-best prospect and top left-handed pitcher heading into the 2011 regular season. In 2010, the Durango, Mexico, native went 0-4 with a 2.51 ERA in 15 combined starts with the GCL Yankees, Single-A Tampa and Double-A Trenton. He becomes just the third pitcher to take home the award since 1996.

The award was established in honor of James P. Dawson (1896-1953), who began a 45-year career with The New York Times as a copy boy in 1908. Eight years later, he became boxing editor and covered boxing and baseball until his death during spring training in 1953.

Two winners of the honor, Tony Kubek in 1957 and Tom Tresh in 1962, went on to win the American League "Rookie of the Year" Award. The award first was presented to rookie Norm Siebern by Manager Casey Stengel in St. Petersburg, Fla., at the conclusion of spring training in 1956. New York Yankees beat writers vote on the winner.

In conjunction with the award, Banuelos received a Baume & Mercier watch from Manfredi Jewelers.

James P. Dawson Award winners:

  • 1956...Norm Siebern OF
  • 1957...Tony Kubek SS
  • 1958...John Blanchard C
  • 1959...Gordon Windhorn OF
  • 1960... John James P
  • 1961...Roland Sheldon P
  • 1962...Tom Tresh SS
  • 1963...Pedro Gonzalez 2B
  • 1964...Pete Mikkelsen P
  • 1965...Arturo Lopez OF
  • 1966...Roy White OF
  • 1967...Bill Robinson OF
  • 1968...Mike Ferraro 3B
  • 1969...Jerry Kenney OF/Bill Burbach P
  • 1970...John Ellis 1b-C
  • 1971...None Selected
  • 1972...Rusty Torres OF
  • 1973...Otto Velez OF
  • 1974...Tom Buskey P
  • 1975...Tippy Martinez P
  • 1976...Willie Randolph 2B
  • 1977...George Zeber INF
  • 1978...Jim Beattie P
  • 1979...Paul Mirabella P
  • 1980...Mike Griffin P
  • 1981...Gene Nelson P
  • 1982...Andre Robertson SS
  • 1983...Don Mattingly 1B/OF
  • 1984...Jose Rijo P
  • 1985...Scott Bradley C
  • 1986...Bob Tewksbury P
  • 1987...Kevin Hughes OF
  • 1988...Al Leiter P
  • 1989...None Selected
  • 1990...Alan Mills P
  • 1991...Hensley Meulens OF
  • 1992...Gerald Williams OF
  • 1993...Mike Humphreys OF
  • 1994...Sterling Hitchcock P
  • 1995...None Selected
  • 1996...Mark Hutton P
  • 1997...Jorge Posada C
  • 1998...Homer Bush INF
  • 1999...None Selected
  • 2000...None Selected
  • 2001...Alfonso Soriano 2B
  • 2002...Nick Johnson 1B
  • 2003...Hideki Matsui OF
  • 2004...Bubba Crosby OF
  • 2005...Andy Phillips INF
  • 2006...Eric Duncan INF
  • 2007...Kei Igawa P
  • 2008...Shelley Duncan INF/OF
  • 2009...Brett Gardner OF
  • 2010...Jon Weber OF
  • 2011...Manny Banuelos P
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page