© 2011 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/22/11 11:24 AM EST

Yanks recognized during busy awards season

NEW YORK -- The awards season was busy for the Yankees, who received their share of recognition after a 97-win season and bringing another American League East title to the Bronx.

Most notably, Curtis Granderson will have to spend part of his winter clearing space on a trophy shelf.

The outfielder earned both an accolade as the AL's Outstanding Player in the 2011 Players Choice Awards, as selected by Major League players, as well as an AL Silver Slugger Award.

"It's amazing, especially with all the names that have played and the years that other players had," Granderson said.

Granderson bested Jose Bautista of the Blue Jays and Adrian Gonzalez of the Red Sox in voting to take the AL Outstanding Player Award.

Team Awards 2011

That nod came during a busy week that also saw second baseman Robinson Cano selected for an AL Silver Slugger Award, as announced by Louisville Slugger.

The Silver Slugger was the third for Cano, who also took it home in '06 and '10. Developing into one of the game's top all-around threats, the 29-year-old Cano batted .302 with 104 runs scored, 46 doubles, 28 homers and 118 RBIs in 159 games.

"It's something I enjoy," said Cano, who thanked his father, Jose. "It means you had a great season, which is what you're looking for. You get home and work hard in the offseason, and you're looking forward to this award at the end of the season."

Granderson hit .262 with 136 runs scored, 26 doubles, 41 homers, 119 RBIs and 85 walks in 156 games, setting career highs in runs, home runs and RBIs. He led the Majors in runs scored, ranked second in home runs and tied Cano for second in extra-base hits (81).

Though both Cano and Granderson received some MVP buzz during the season, Granderson finished fourth and Cano ranked sixth behind the Tigers' Justin Verlander in results unveiled on Monday by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Right-hander Ivan Nova finished fourth in the BBWAA's AL Rookie of the Year vote behind the Rays' Jeremy Hellickson, and Yankees manager Joe Girardi finished fifth behind Tampa Bay's Joe Maddon for the AL Manager of the Year Award.

MLB.com also issued some team-specific nods to Yankees players. Granderson was tabbed as the Bombers' Player of the Year, closer Mariano Rivera took honors as the team's Pitcher of the Year and Nova's campaign earned respect as the Yankees' Breakout Player of the Year.

The Yankees were shut out from winning Gold Glove Awards, as voted on by Major League managers and coaches, for the first time since 2007.

Cano was bested by the Red Sox's Dustin Pedroia at second base, and Brett Gardner was topped in left field by the Royals' Alex Gordon.

However, Gardner was given a nod with his second consecutive Fielding Bible Award, indicative of the best fielder at a position in 2011, as announced in the latest installment of "The Bill James Handbook."

The text indicated that Gardner saved 22 defensive runs for the Yankees in 2011, tying him with the Tigers' Austin Jackson for the most saved by an outfielder.

In addition, Yankees right-hander Bartolo Colon was a candidate for the MLBPA's Comeback Player of the Year Award, which went to the Red Sox's Jacoby Ellsbury.

National Awards
MVP Year Cy Young Year ROY Year
Alex Rodriguez 2007 Roger Clemens 2001 Derek Jeter 1996
Alex Rodriguez 2005 Ron Guidry 1978 Dave Righetti 1981
Don Mattingly 1985 Sparky Lyle 1977 Thurman Munson 1970
Thurman Munson 1976 Whitey Ford 1961 Stan Bahnsen 1968
Elston Howard 1963 Bob Turley 1958 Tom Tresh 1962
Mickey Mantle 1962 Tony Kubek 1957
Roger Maris 1961 Bob Grim 1954
Roger Maris 1960 Gil McDougald 1951
Mickey Mantle 1957
Mickey Mantle 1956
Yogi Berra 1955
Yogi Berra 1954
Yogi Berra 1951
Phil Rizzuto 1950
Joe DiMaggio 1947
Spud Chandler 1943
Joe Gordon 1942
Joe DiMaggio 1941
Joe DiMaggio 1939
Lou Gehrig 1936
Lou Gehrig 1927
Babe Ruth 1923
Triple Crown World Series MVP ALCS MVP
Mickey Mantle 1956 Hideki Matsui 2009 CC Sabathia 2009
Lou Gehrig 1934 Derek Jeter 2000 Mariano Rivera 2003
Mariano Rivera 1999 Andy Pettitte 2001
Scott Brosius 1998 David Justice 2000
John Wetteland 1996 Orlando Hernandez 1999
Bucky Dent 1978 David Wells 1998
Reggie Jackson 1977 Bernie Williams 1996
Ralph Terry 1962 Graig Nettles 1981
Whitey Ford 1961
Bobby Richardson 1960
Bob Turley 1958
Don Larsen 1956

Bryan Hoch is a reporter for MLB.com. Follow him on Twitter @bryanhoch and read his MLBlog, Bombers Beat. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.